Denying the Critic

I have read and been told many times and in many different ways that one should dissolve the critic in your head. Kill him with kindness or action, meditation or affirmations.

This is wonderful advice for some but I realized recently that it does not work for me.

I was sitting in deep thought after some really deep soul work and the critic came up and wanted to go a round with me. I recognized him (for me it’s a “him”) and almost pushed him out when it occurred to me that I Recognized The Critic and know him all to well.

For me,  I find it best to welcome the critic, for now, so that I can acknowledge him and kindly mother him, for just a minute, and then detach from him with love.

It gives me a chance to reaffirm my positive beliefs and strengths and mother myself to freedom.

 

Leave a Reply

